…Writing Letters

Is it strange that sometimes the thing which cheers me up the most is writing to someone I’ve never met, living half way across the world? I suppose it is a little odd. Since I was very young I always dreamed of having a pen pal. My only experience was a rather awkward couple of months exchanging emails with a Spanish girl I was put in contact with through school. It would have been fine had I been able to speak a word of Spanish and/or her more than a few words of English.  Needless to say, it wasn’t the most fruitful of experiences.

I had all but given up on finding a pen pal until I came across the blog ‘A Flood of Memories’.


The blog does pen pal calls and package swaps. I have two pen pals I met through the blog and I love writing to them. It’s not something I ever thought I’d have the opportunity to do and defiantly not something I see any of my friends at home being particularly interested in, but that’s what’s so lovely: I get to meet people who have this is common with me. A few days ago I got a lovely little package from one of my pen pals in the Netherlands.

She sent me a few things she thought I’d be interested in and I’m planning to send back a couple of little tokens of English life. I’m having a lot of fun putting it together. I’m including these two cute little cards:

british postcard

british biscuits

Facebook seems to mean so little these day; I’ve never spoken to half of the people I’m friends with on there. Writing seems so much more special because you’ve actually got to sit down and think about what you’re going to write. Blogging is similar in that sense, I suppose. What’s your favourite way to keep in contact?

4 thoughts on “I Love…

  1. awe i love writing letters too.
    my boyfriend and i started dating in october, and i’ve written him a letter for christmas, valentines day, and i’m going to do one for his birthday and our anniversary. i hope that in the future he will have a collection of love letters i have written him.
    maybe i’m just a romantic, but it sounds like a lovely idea.

    anyways.
    lucky you having penpals!

    xoxo
    e

    1. That’s such a sweet idea! I think part of the reason I first fell in love with the idea of writing letters was Cecily Cardew talking about all her love letters in ‘The Importance of Being Ernest’, though thinking back, I’m pretty sure she wrote all of them herself so she may not be the best thing to aspire to!
      xx

  2. I love writing and receiving letters! Such a shame that I don’t really have anyone anymore I could write to. That’s probably part of the reason I joined postcrossing. I love it. When you’ve signed up for the website you can request an adress from someone around the world and you write them a postcard. The person who receives the postcard registers it online and then you will receive a postcard from someone else around the world. I just love that I never know when or from who I will get a postcard. It’s an amazing way to get to know people from very different countries.

    1. I’ve never heard of post crossing but I love the sound of it! I’ll definitely take a look at it. There’s something so charming about taking the time to write to someone like that. This sounds perfect if you don’t always have the time to sit down and write a long letter. Thanks for telling me 🙂

Leave a Reply

