My Nan is an absolute sweetheart. As soon as I got into cooking, she dived into the boxes of things she’s hoarded over the years and dug out all of her old recipes. As I’ve mentioned, I was involved this year in The Great Food Blogger Cookie Swap. I wanted to make sure whatever I made was extra special so I decided to dig out a recipe I’d had my eye on for a while.

With white chocolate and cranberries, the recipe felt appropriate for the Christmas season. I hope my Nan won’t mind me saying, I tweaked the recipe a little to make it nut-free and I think it’s an improvement. This is something really special: chewy, sweet, salty and tangy all in one. They may look a little too rustic to hang on the tree but I doubt they would last that long anyway: they’re too tasty!

DSC_0219

Ingredients

  • 150g plain flour
  • 75g oats
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • 125g butter
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 75g brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 75g dried cranberries
  • 150g white chocolate, roughly chopped
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 tbsp milk

Preheat oven to 180o C.
Into a large bowl, add the  flour, oats, white chocolate, cranberries, salt and baking powder and whisk together.
In a new bowl, cream butter and both sugars until soft. Add vanilla essence, and eggs and mix.
Pour in the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Add the milk until the dough holds together. Roll into balls and squash onto a lined baking tray.
Bake for 12-15 minutes.

christmas cookies

 

4 thoughts on “Oaty white chocolate, cranberry, sea salt cookies

  1. Hi Ellie, I wanted to say a huge thank you for sending me these lovely cookies. I have a weak spot for white chocolate cookies, so you can imagine my joy when I received your lovely package! They were a hit at my house, and didn’t last longer than a couple of days…which is a shame, really, as I could definitely do with some more right now 😛

Leave a Reply

