Gluten free and dairy free dark chocolate macaroons!
Gluten free and dairy free dark chocolate macaroons!

Something I haven’t brought up here before is something I’ve been dealing with for a couple of years now, and from the sounds of it, I’m not alone. Anyone can suffer IBS, though it’s twice as common in women as in men. The causes and symptoms vary a lot, and as such, it can be very difficult to treat. So far, nothing has proven effective for helping me but most recently, I’ve been placed on a low FODMAP diet.

FODMAP: Fermentable Oligo-, Di-,Mono-saccharides And Polyols. These are short chain carbohydrates (oligosaccharides), disaccharides,monosaccharides and related alcohols that are poorly absorbed in the small intestine. I’ll spare you the details but it essentially leaves me with a very restricted diet, excluding lactose and gluten.

All in all, it’s not easy to find low FODMAP recipes so to help my fellow IBS sufferers, I am going to be posting some alongside the regular stuff. But don’t get put off! They’ll still be delicious, plus lactose and gluten free!

More exciting stuff…I have an instagram! Yes, this is totally just an excuse for gratuitous foodie photos but that’s fine, right? Check it out

3 thoughts on “FODMAP-ing fun

Leave a Reply

