DSC_0006Truth be told, I got pretty fed-up with the low FODMAP diet. I spent a week on holiday with my family and we like our food. On holiday particularly, we treat ourselves. Pretty much every day for the week, they would treat themselves to tea and cake, Cornish pasties, ice-cream, or pastries. Each time my mum would say, sympathetically “I don’t suppose there’s anything you can eat?”. Each time I would shake my head and she would give me a sad-but-encouraging smile then quickly tuck into whatever she was eating with relish and seem to forget I had to sit and watch. Even eating out was near impossible so I would sit each lunchtime in a cafe with my sad-and-soggy gluten free sandwich with the same filling I’d been eating all week.

It’s the monotony of eating the same thing each day which I struggle with. It feels as though so few ingredients are safe for me that I lose all enthusiasm to cook at all and, when my gut gets bad all I want is to forget about eating all together.

So there I was, feeling like I might as well give up with the blog, if not all hope of good food, when I check and found that new people had followed. I hadn’t even posted recently and still, people are finding this place! It was the reminder I needed that I’m not going through this alone. Around 10-15% of our population have IBS yet there is so little knowledge about it! Maybe it’s embarrassment that keeps people quiet. Still, this was the spur I needed to get back on the horse. So, guys…I’m back! And this time I’m armed with more determination and a low FODMAP cookbook. And to celebrate, I baked you the yummiest chocolate brownie tart, based on a recipe from the book. Enjoy…

Ingredients
For the crust:
140g gluten-free oat cookies (I used Nairn’s oat and ginger cookies because ginger makes everything better)
60g plain cook’s chocolate (no milk)
75g lactose free/dairy free margarine
For the filling:
225g plain cook’s chocolate (no milk)
150g lactose free/dairy free margarine
165g caster sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
5 eggs

Preheat the oven to 150°C. Line a 23cm tart tin
Crush the biscuits (that’s right, let out all the anger about not being able to buy a normal godamn pack of biscuits) and pour into a bowl.
Finely chop the chocolate for the crust and add this to the biscuits. Melt the margarine and add this too. Mix everything together and press into the bottom and sides of the tart tin.
Set this aside in the fridge to set solid.
Chop the chocolate for the filling and place in a heatproof bowl. Set over a saucepan of simmering water and allow to melt, stirring occasionally. Set aside to cool slightly.
Combine the margarine, sugar, vanilla and one egg with a handheld beater until pale and creamy. Add the chocolate and beat well.
Clean the beaters and, in a clean bowl, beat the remaining 4 eggs until light and fluffy (about doubled in size).
Pour the chocolate mixture into the eggs and beat on low until combined.
Pour the filling over the base.
Bake for 50-60 minutes (Less if you want the filling gooey).
Allow to cool and set properly.
Serve

I made a few adjustments from the original, and mine was more cake-like that tart-like but if you want the original, or any other low fodmap inspiration, you can find the Low FODMAP cookbook here.

Leave a Reply

