new-year

2016 has been…eventful to say the least. The world has lost some amazing people. Politically, it seems to have lost its mind. So many people have taken a hit in one form or another and the future is looking uncertain. However, after three months in the sun and a festive season full of good food and alcohol, I find I’m ready for a new turn.

“better to light a single candle than to curse the darkness”

Each year, instead of new year’s resolutions, I try to write a list of things I want to do. The year, one of these is to share with you each month something little, but something good. Looking at the world as a whole, my choices might make no real difference but I want to make choices I feel good about. I also hope that by sharing these choices, I might make someone just a little more conscious of the choices they are making.

So without further ado: welcome to 12 months of good stuff, things big and small which will help you walk a little lighter in the earth – to live a little more ethically.

This January, I’m eating vegan. Veganism is an interesting choice. I’ll note here that I am not vegan and after January I will go back to relishing omnivory. In fact there is some debate about the impact of a vegan diet world-over, and suggestions that it is not in fact the most sustainable way to eat. There are certainly vegan foods which are not ethical. However I will cover the debate – both pros and cons – in a post later this month. For now I’m just want to give you all the opportunity to sign up with me to Veganuary at veganuary.com. Even if veganism isn’t a permanent solution, it may inspire you to eat meat, fish, and dairy a little less often, which in my opinion is  a good thing.

I also want to promise that eating vegan does not need to be dull! This seems obvious to me because I have grown up with a vegetarian sister and I have seen how many alternatives there are around, but as proof, here are some fabulous recipes and blogs to get you going…

vegan-mushroom-wellington-recipe

Vegan Mushroom Recipe

superfood-hot-chocolate-with-honey-caramelized-brioche-1-1

Superfood hot chocolate with caramelized brioche

veganpotatocakesstuffedwithmushrooms-deliciouswaytouseleftovermashedpotatoes

Stuffed vegan potato cakes

raw-vegan-wagon

Raw vegan wagon wheels

Leave a Reply

